UWA Logo
  GSM Home   

The Centre for Entrepreneurial Management officially closed on June 30th, 2007. Associate Professor Tim Mazzarol, the driving force behind CEMI, will shift from administering the centre to focusing on his research. Prof Mazzarol will be taking a well-deserved sabbatical in July for a year, spending most of his time completing his two book projects. This will include spending four months in Europe gathering and finalising five years of research generated via CEMI from 13 countries around the world.

According to Prof Mazzarol, although CEMI is closing, students will still be able to study entrepreneurship and innovation through the Business School.

The Business School will continue to provide support for the continuation of the specialist units and programs developed by the Centre which are well regarded by those who have attended them he said.  You can access information on these courses through the Business School website at www.biz.uwa.edu.au

CEMI celebrates significant achievements since its formation five years ago. Prof Mazzarol recalled the top five achievements with the first being the leading-edge research across several key areas.

Developing the courses and courseware in innovation management and commercialisation and small business management was a milestone for CEMI including the enhancement of the UWA MBA program in these areas, he said.

Prof Mazzarol also recounts the strong industry links and alliance partners within Australia and internationally as additional key achievements. Prof Mazzarol would like to thank the many people, staff, students, industry mentors, specialist presenters and industry clients who have been part of CEMI in the past 5 years. He particularly would like to thank Hendy Cowan, Chairman of the first CEMI Industry Advisory Committee meeting, Russell Barnett who was a dedicated and long standing partner of the Centre, Prof Geoff Soutar, Prof David Plowman, Prof Malcolm Richmond, Lynne Stephenson, the CEMI Industry Advisory Committee Members past and present, and Adjunct Research and Teaching Fellows.

Top of Page